Posted in Recipes

Recipe of the Week: Baked Cheesy Buffalo Chicken

So, I always turn to my little cookbook that I write recipes in that I have tried and they have won over the dinner table (and my tummy). This recipe is definitely high up on the list. This recipe is for the Baked Cheesy Buffalo Chicken. I LOVE buffalo chicken, don’t know why, but put some buffalo sauce on it and I’ll chow down.

I first saw this recipe on Pinterest last year, and had to try it. It comes from the Peanut Butter & Peppers blog (click to get to original recipe) and is originally a grilled chicken recipe. I am a PICKY eater. Like really picky…. or rather…. particular. Yeah, I like that title better. Anyways, try this and you’ll love it, I eat it, so you know it’s gotta be good. If you don’t, well… bless your buffalo chicken hating heart. It has so much flavor and is so easy and cheap to make. Also, it’s 4 SmartPoints WeightWatchers points! Win! I bake it instead of grilling it (mainly out of ease, but I don’t know how to grill anything, it’d still be raw on the inside if I tried). I’m going to give you the baked version of the recipe; if you want to grill it, follow the link and it’ll have those directions.

http://www.peanutbutterandpeppers.com/2014/03/18/grilled-cheesy-buffalo-chicken/

grilled-cheesy-buffalo-chicken-012a.jpg

^^ pretty pic of the finished product from the website I got it from (via Peanut Butter & Peppers)^^

Baked Cheesy Buffalo Chicken (4 WW SP per serving)

Nutrition Information
  • Serves: 4 servings
  • Serving size: 4 oz.
Prep time:  10 mins
Cook time:  35 mins
Total time:  45 mins
Ingredients:
1 lb. Boneless Chicken Breast
Black Pepper
1/4 c. Shredded Mozzarella Cheese (I use mozzarella slices – 1 slice per chicken breast)
1 tsp. Butter (I use Olivio Light “butter” spread – available at HEB)
1/4 c. Franks Hot Sauce
1/4 tsp. Celery Salt (or garlic powder – I use celery salt tho)
Directions:
1.  Preheat oven to 375°F.
2.  Butterfly chicken breasts.  Sprinkle the inside with black pepper.  Evenly top the chicken with cheese (or put 1 slice (halved) in each breast) and fold over chicken to close it. Repeat for each chicken breast. Place in a greased glass baking dish.
3.  In a small bowl, melt the butter in the microwave.  Stir in hot sauce and celery/garlic powder.
4.  Brush one side of the chicken with hot sauce mix, turn over, and do the same to the other side.  Repeat for each chicken breast, and spread the remaining wherever you want or just pour into dish (that’s where it all ends up anyways).
5.  Cook in the oven at 375°F for about 35 minutes, or until done.

Now enjoy the deliciousness of this juicy chicken (have yet to have it turn out dried out). I served it tonight with sweet potato fries (lightly seasoned with sugar and cinnamon mix) and a side salad (with buffalo ranch of course!).


Hope you enjoy it as much as my family does!

20170117_172451.jpg
^^my crummy cell phone pic of my finished product. I PROMISE it’s good!^^
20170117_190701.jpg
^^the cookbook I use (and my mom does too) to write recipes in… I got it at LTD Commodities for $6.98 and I’m slowly but surely filling it up (at least the dessert and chicken sections).^^
-Jill
2 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week: Baked Cheesy Buffalo Chicken

Leave a Reply

